top of page
Search
  • Keeve

Wings

Since I bought the car up until I painted it, then from the first drift day til about mid-2019 both of the wings have been minced.

I used to work off "the right amount of camber and front wheel stretch will allow the wheel to clear and not foul the arches". But no matter how much finessing I threw at it, any time I hit the track it would burst the arches.


One trick I was told which did help but not enough was to remove all of the wing mounting points apart from the upper wing bolts (Under the bonnet/hood). So I did this and cable tied the lower mount to the skirt. The idea is that if your wheel hits it will lift the arch/wing rather than keep firm and be prone to ripping. ~ you can see this happening in the first picture uploaded.


Onto an actual fix - I can't remember where I saw this first, but I saw Asano do it afterwards and I was already planning to do it the next set of solid wings I got.


Welded in a piece of 3mm bar to reenforce the lip, so if my wheel does hit mid drift its now not going to burst a hole in the side, it will just go through the inner skin before hitting the bar.


Next on these wing modifications was to weld in a plate for the bumper to rest in. I see theres a bolt on kit sold somewhere but since I already had the welder out it was a no brainer.

I've since tweaked where this sat and beefed up the welding. (I know i'm terrible at welding)


So with the bumper guides and welded in 3mm bar the wings have now been issue free! They've done two drift days and you can't tell that the wheels been hitting the wing in the slightest. ~ The dents aren't related to the issue as the wings haven't been prepped/painted.

Cheers!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page